“Königsteiner Schlüssel“

The assignment to a reception centre depends firstly on its current capacity. Secondly it also matters in which branch of the Federal Office the homeland of the asylum seeker is processed because not every branch processes every country of origin. In addition to that there are admission quotas for each federal state in Germany. These quotas dictate the number of asylum seekers that have to be admitted in each federal state. The quotas are calculated and determined according to the so called “Königssteiner Schlüssel”. It is calculated annually in accordance with tax revenues and total population of the federal states.

The distribution quotas for 2015 are as follows:

State                                                   Quota

Baden-Württemberg 12,97496% 
Bayern 15.33048%
Berlin  5.04557%
Brandenburg    3.08092%
Bremen  0.94097%
Hamburg  2.52738%
Hessen 7.31557%
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern  2.04165%
Niedersachsen 9.35696%
Nordrhein-Westfalen   21.24052%
Rheinland-Pfalz  4.83472%
Saarland  1.21566%
Sachsen  5.10067%
Sachsen-Anhalt  2.85771%
Schleswig-Holstein  3.38791%
Thüringen  2.74835%

Distribution of asylum seekers 2015 source: Federal Office for Migration and Refugees